06 | 03
The Shangri-La Dialogue 2014

The 13th IISS Regional Security Summit: The Shangri-La Dialogue, Asian region's biggest defence and security forum commenced in Singapore on the 30th of  May 2014. The three-day summit in Singapore was the largest to date with some 450 delegates in attendance providing a platform for countries to engage in dialogues

Japan's Prime Minister Shinzo Abe gave this year’s key note address, stressing the importance of the rule of law in resolving Asia's disputes and said Japan would pursue a policy of 'proactive contribution to peace'.

Secretary Defence and Urban Development Gotabaya Rajapaksa led the Sri Lankan delegation. The delegation included Secretary to the Ministry of Law, Major General Nanda Mallawaarachchi, High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to Australia, Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe, Commander of the Army, Lt General R M D Ratnayake, Chief of Staff Navy, Rear Admiral SAMJ Perera and Chief of Staff Air Force, AVM GP Bulathsinghala

The Secretary Defence and Urban Development Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa held bilateral discussions on the side-lines of the Shangri-la dialogue with Permanent Secretary of Defence of Singapore, Mr Chan Yeng Kit. Both countries acknowledged their strong bilateral relations and the parties resolved to strengthen co-operation further in the defence and security spheres. Secretary Defence Gotabaya Rajapaksa also held discussions with the Secretary for Defence of Pakistan, Lt General (Retd) Asif Yasin Malik and the National Security Advisor to the President of the Philippines, Secretary Cesar P Garcia.

Commander of the Army, Lt General R M D Ratnayake held discussions with the Commander of the Armed Forces of Brunei, Yang Dimuliakan Pehin Datu Pekerma Jaya, Major General Dato Seri Pahlawan on the side-lines of the Shangri La Dialogue 2014.

Countries represented at this year’s Dialogue comprised of Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Timor-Leste, UK, US, Vietnam, the European Union and several International Organisations.

back to news