03 | 15
Suspension of on-arrival visa to Sri Lanka due to the COVID-19 outbreak (Updated)



Suspension of on-arrival visa to Sri Lanka due to the COVID-19 outbreak


The Controller General of Immigration & Emigration of Sri Lanka, in a new circular dated 13 March 2020, has notified that the nationals from Maldives, Singapore & Seychelles, the countries that were exempted from the Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) facility and granted on-arrival visa previously, will be temporarily suspended with effect from 15.03.2020, 2359 hrs - local time in Sri Lanka, until further notice.


The aforementioned counties will be included into the ETA system enabling to apply for online-visas.


The nationals of the above countries, who intends to travel to Sri Lanka for essential purposes shall apply for their visas online via ETA website (


It is also notified that however, they may be subject to the quarantine procedures, which will be implemented as per the prevailing requirement of the country upon their arrival.


Please refer to the paragraph 4 of the circular (copy attached) for details as stipulated therein.


Sri Lanka High Commission

back to news
sri lanka export development board eRegister president offficial web site priminister offficial web site Ministry of Foreign Affairs Sri Lanka Trade Information Portal media center for national development travel sri lanka department of immigration and emigration sri lanka slbfe board of investment colombo stock exchange government news Official facebook page of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Sri Lanka
Wonder of Asia