05 | 31
The Shangri-La Dialogue 2013

The 12th Asia Security Summit, the Shangri-La Dialogue 2013 the Asian region's biggest defence and security forum commenced in Singapore on the 31st of May, with a noteworthy roster of defence leaders and senior officials from over 27 countries in attendance. The Summit was held from the 31st May to 2nd of June, providing a platform for countries to engage in dialogues aimed at building confidence and fostering practical security cooperation.

Nguyen Tan Dung, Prime Minister of Vietnam, opened the 12th Shangri-La Dialogue with a Keynote Address in which he called on the countries of the region to 'build strategic trust' to overcome disputes.

Secretary Defence and Urban Development Gotabaya Rajapaksa led the Sri Lankan delegation. The delegation included Lt. Gen. Jagath Jayasuriya - Commander of Sri Lanka Army, Rear Admiral Jayantha Perera - Director General Operation of Sri Lanka Navy and Ms. Kshenuka Senewiratne - Additional Secretary of The Ministry of External Affairs.

The Secretary Defence and Urban Development Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa held bilateral discussions on the side-lines of the Shangri-la dialogue with Minister for Defence of Malaysia, Datuk Seri Dr. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi in which the Secretary of Defence explained the significant role played by Sri Lanka in curbing international terrorism by ending a 30 year terrorist conflict and spoke of the constructive way forward adopted by the country in achieving national reconciliation.

Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa also held bilateral discussions with the Administrative vice Minister of Defence, Japan, Mr Masanori Nishi .Both parties welcomed the strengthening of bilateral ties between Sri Lanka and Japan, and exchanged views on regional and international developments.

Other bilateral meetings with Sri Lanka included a bilateral meeting held with The Secretary Defence Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Mr. Purnomo Yusgiantoro, Minister of Defence, Indonesia and a bilateral meeting with Mr. Chiang Chie Foo Permanent Secretary for Defence of Singapore and Mr Gotabaya Rakjapaksa. Both countries acknowledged their enhanced interactions and sound bilateral relations with Sri Lanka and the parties resolved to strengthen co-operation further in the defence and security spheres.

Countries represented at this year’s Dialogue comprised of Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, UK, US, and Vietnam.


back to news